Namibia and its Resources


Namibia is a country of South African region. It was known as the South West Africa. It was a colony of Germany. It was taken over by British Army and handed over to South Africa for administration. It remained as a colony of South Africa for some period. It gained independence on 21st March 1990. It has an area of 825615 The bordering countries are Angola in the north, Zimbabwe and Zambia in the north east, Botswana in the east, and South Africa in the south direction. the western coast is covered by the Atlantic Ocean. The capital city is Windhoek. The Population of Namibia is around 2.1 million .Namibia is having dry and arid climate in major parts of the country. Human civilisation was reported from the Bronze age period. The important tribes are San, Damara, and Namaqua. Christianity is followed by around 90 percent of the population. The remaining people have their local beliefs and religions. The official language of Namibia is English. Other languages are German, Afrikaans, and Oshiambo. The Oshiambo language is spoken by more than 50 percent people of Namibia. Other languages spoken are Nama-Damara, Kavango, Silozi, Herero, Setswana, and Reekwangall.

The early settlers in Namibia are the Nama, Orlama, Herero, Gobabis and Okahandja. The first european traveller to land in this country was a navigator, from Portugal. He was called Diego Cao Camelare. He landed there in the year 1485.AD. Bartolomeu Dias came to Namibia in the year 1486 AD. In the early part of 19th century, traders from Germany and Sweden came to Namibia. Some European traders landed in Namibia on their way to Angola from South Africa. Slowly many settlers came and settled in the coastal region of Namibia. Germany made it a colony in the year 1884 AD. It was called German South West Africa. After the defeat of Germany in the World War-1, it was occupied by South Africa. It was named as South West Africa. Due to spread of education by the missionaries in Namibia, many people accepted Christianity as their religion and faith. Most of the people are Lutheran Christian in Namibia. Some are Catholic, Methodist and Anglican Church.

Namibia is divided into 13 regions. These are Zambezi, Erongo, Hardap, Ikaras, Khomas, kavango, kunene, Omaheke, Omusati, Ohangwene, Oshana, Oshikoto, and Otjozondjupa. These regions are divided into 121 constituencies. Important cities of Namibia are Windhoek, Walvis Bay, Rundu, Swakopmund, Oshakati, Rehoboth, Katima, Mulilo, Otjiwarongo, Ondangwa and Okahandja. The constitution of Namibia made the country as sovereign, secular, democratic republic of Namibia. the government of Namibia has three major parts as the Executive, the Legislature and the Judiciary. The President and the Cabinet are the executive part of the government. The President is head of the state and the government. He is elected for a period of 5 year by direct franchise in the national election. He is declared elected as and when he wins more than 50 percent of the votes cast in the election. The Cabinet includes the President, the Prime Minister, the Deputy Prime Minister and the Ministers. The Ministers head the ministries, autonomous bodies and agencies. The Cabinet implements the guide lines of the constitution and the act of Parliament. The regional authorities and local authorities function for regional and local issues.

The Parliament is the highest legislative body in Namibia. It has two parts as the National Assembly and the National Council, The National Assembly is having 72 elected members and 6 nominated members. The elected members are elected every 5 years on a proportional representation system. The National Assembly is the highest law making body in the country. The 6 nominated members are nominated by the President of Namibia. The National Council is the second part of the Parliament. It has 26 members and elected from the 13 regions. Each region elects 2 members to the National Council. The members are elected for a period of 6 years. The National Council gives advice to the National Assembly on matters related to the regions. The ministers are member of the Parliament.

The Judiciary is the third part of the government and very important for the people of Namibia. The Judiciary has lower courts, The High Court and the Supreme Court. The High Court has the appealing authority over the judgement of the Lower courts. The Supreme Court has appealing authority over the High Court. The judges of the High Court and the Supreme Court are appointed by the President of Namibia.