Hawaii and its volcanoes

Hawaiian eruption: 1: Ash plume, 2: Lava fountain, 3: Crater, 4: Lava lake, 5: Fumaroles, 6: Lava flow, 7 Layers of lava and ash, 8: Stratum, 9: Sill, 10: Magma conduit, 11: Magma chamber, 12: Dike

Hawaii is formed by group of volcanic islands in the Pacific Ocean. The total area of the islands is 10432 sq.km. The width of the largest island is 122km. The highest elevation point is 4206 meter. The islands are divided into 9 administrative districts. These are Puna, South Hilo, North Hilo, Humakua, North Kohala, South Kohala, North Kona, South Kona, and Kao. The capital of Hawaii is Kilo. The islands are connected to the cities of USA and other countries by air and by ships. Hawaii has two international airports at Hilo and Kona. Two ports are there at Hilo in the east and Kowalhae in the west. The economy of Hawaii depends upon tourism, agriculture, cattle rearing fishing, coffee plantation and orchid culture. Farming of organic fruits and vegetables are popular in Hawaii. The place is famous for its astronomical observatories. A large telescope is placed at the summit of Maunakea dormant volcano for study of planets, stars and galaxies. Some places of interests are there in Hawaii. These are Akaka fall, Ethnobiological garden, East Hawaii Cultural center, Tropical Botanical Garden, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Royal Palace at Kailua-Kona, Imiola Astronomical Centre at in Hilo, Onizuka Centre for International Astronomy, Pacific Tsunami Museum, Rainbow falls state Park, Umauma falls, World Botanical Garden, and University of Hawaii at Hilo.

The islands are chain of volcanic islands. The south eastern most islands is Hawaii. The Hawaii Island is formed by five volcanoes. These are Kohala, Maunakea, Hualalai, Maunaloa, and Kilauea.The Kohala is extinct and Maunakea is dormant. The active volcanoes are Hualalai, Maunaloa and Kilauea. The Hawai volcano National Park is formed by the two active volcanoes of Maunaloa and Kilauea. The Kilauea is very active and errupting regularly since 1983.The lava flow of Maunaloa and Kilauea volcanoes added an area of 220 hectares to the island. Some settlements like Kapalo, Kalapana and Kaimu are submerged by the flow of volcanic lava. About 36 km south east of Hawaii lays the underlying sea volcano named as Loihi. It is an erupting volcano under the sea. A large crack is found in the district of Kau. It is believed to be formed by a severe earth quake in the past. The Hawaii Volcanoes National Park is formed by Maunaloa and Kilauea volcanoes. The kilauea volcano lies in the south eastern part of Hawaii island. Varieties of tropical plants are found in the National Park areas.